Minster's Brown Throws No-Hitter (Thursday, April 19 Scoreboard)

Minster's Austin Brown threw a no-hitter against Versailles on Thursday. (Staff Photo/John Zwez)
Staff Writer



Minster 2, Versailles 1 — Minster starting pitcher Austin Brown threw a no-hitter and struck out 13 to make a pair of first-inning runs stand up as the Wildcats got back in the win column in Midwest Athletic Conference play. Brown provided a dominating performance on the hill, striking out 13 and giving up an unearned run. Minster scored twice in the first inning with an RBI single by Jared Huelsman and an error. Minster improved to 9-3 and 2-3 in the MAC and handed Versailles its second MAC loss of the season. There is now a four-way tie for first place in the conference between Fort Recovery, Coldwater, New Bremen and St. Henry.

New Bremen 14, New Knoxville 2, 5 inn. — New Bremen moved into a tie for first place in the Midwest Athletic Conference with a run-rule win over the Rangers. Patrick Wells homered and went 2-for-2 with four runs batted in while Justin Tenkman was 2-for-3 with two RBI, Bryce Blickle was 2-for-2 with an RBI and Mitchell Hays doubled and drove in two as the Cardinals rolled.

St. Henry 1, Coldwater 0 — St. Henry scored a run in the top of the fifth to take the win in the pitcher’s dual between Mercer County MAC powers. Ninth-place hitter Ryan Bruening drove in the game’s game-winning run on a fielder’s choice.  St. Henry’s Daylon Lange went the distance for the shutout with four strikeouts  while Coldwater’s Cole Frilling gave up one run on four hits with two strikeouts.

Parkway 6, Delphos St. John’s 0 — Clayton Agler, Nick Hawk, Nick Riley, Breyden Bruns and Noah Riley each drove in runs while Agler threw a complete game shutout for Parkway.

Fort Recovery 10, Marion Local 1 — Ben Homan and Nick Thwaits each drove in three runs and Kody Shinabery had two RBI as the Indians rolled to the win.

Minster 12, Versailles 4 — Karly Richard homered and tripled and went 4-for-5 with two runs batted in, Jenna Poeppelman was 3-for-3 with two RBI, Lindsey Albers drove in three runs and Alice Schmiesing had a hit and an RBI as Minster scored three runs in each of the first two innings to set the tone. Poeppelman threw a complete game with two strikeouts.

Marion Local 9, Fort Recovery 3 — Marion Local put runs up in each of its first four at-bats and defeated the Indians, 9-3. Kara Evers socked a home run and drove in two runs, Marah Moeller went 2-for-4 with a double and two RBI. Emily Nietfeld doubled and went 3-for-3 with an RBI. Amber Schmitz was 2-for-4 with an RBI. Brooke Hartings had an RBI. Schmitz earned the win in the pitcher’s circle, giving up one unearned run with seven strikeouts and no walks.

Coldwater 8, St. Henry 2 — Coldwater’s Maddie Stienke struck out 10 and didn’t allow an earned run and drove in two runs to lead the Cavaliers to a win. Grace Bruns and Kelsey Kahlig each added two RBI.

Shawnee 4, Parkway 3, 8 inn. — Shawnee scored two runs in the bottom of the eighth inning to rally past the Panthers in extra innings.

Girls: 1. Van Wert 103, 2. Fort Loramie 80, 3. Marion Local 22, 4. Troy Christian 11
Boys: 1. Van Wert 90, 2. Marion Local 76.5, 3. Fort Loramie 70.5, 4. Troy Christian 16

Van Wert swept a quad meet at Fort Loramie while Marion Local’s boys and Fort Loramie’s girls took second on Thursday.

Fort Loramie’s Jarrett Meyer won the boys 110 hurdles (16.11) and long jump (21-0.75). Joe Ballas won the 400 meter dash (53.26) and 3200 meter run (10:21.6). The Fort Loramie 400 meter relay team of Carson Moore, Deegan Meyer, Lane Eilerman and  Meyer won (46.71). Evan Luthman won the pole vault (10-6).

On the girls side, Fort Loramie’s Corynn Heitkamp won the 300 hurdles (51.34) and high jump (4-8). Kennedi Gephart won the 200 meter dash (26.91). Hannah Raterman won the pole vault (8-6). Danielle Berning won the 3200 meter run (12:51.29).
The Fort Loramie girls 800 relay team of Alyssa Wrasman, Chloe Stang, Erin Chaney and Kennedi Gephart won (1:51.9). The 400 relay team of Kate Barhorst, Jenna Fischkelta, Grace Wehrman and Erin Chaney won (55.02).