Throng of Area Athletes Headed to Jesse Owens

Staff Writer

TROY — The Minster girls track captured a regional title and will headed to Columbus with hopes of adding another state championship to the school’s gold-gilded athletics season, the Fort Loramie boys took second and athletes from all the area squads will compete at Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium this weekend.

The Minster girls scored 85 points to hoist the regional title trophy running away. Second-place Columbus Grove was 25 points behind.

Leading the way was sophomore distance runner Emma Watcke, who won the 1600 meter run, the 3200 meter run and was part of the winning 3200 relay team.

Watcke won the 1600 with a 5:01.59 time, taking the lead against tough competition on the last lap, getting around Lima Central Catholic’s Emily Sreenan and Springfield Catholic Central’s Addie Engel. Minster’s Kaitlynn Albers is also headed to state with a fourth-place finish (5:08.76).

Watcke then outpaced Columbus Grove’s Alyssa Ellerbrock by two seconds in the 3200 to pick up the regional title with an 11:13.08 time.

The 3200 relay team of Cassie Francis, Kaitlynn Albers, Watcke and Madeline Magoto won with a 9:25.32 time while Fort Loramie’s quartet of Corynn Heitkamp, Danielle Eilerman, Paige Rethman and Danielle Berning took fourth to advance with a 9:52.69 pace.

Also picking up a regional title for Minster was Magoto in the 800, with Francis right behind her in second.

New Bremen’s Macy Puthoff won the regional championship in the long jump (17-3) while fellow MAC athletes Paige Thobe of Minster, who took third (17-1.25), and Marion Local’s Aubrey Thobe, who finished fourth (16-10.5), also advanced to state.

Minster’s Grace Butler finished second in the pole vault. New Bremen’s Celeste Kuck will also return to state with a fourth-place finish.

New Bremen’s Julia Goettemoeller finished second in the 300 hurdles (46.23).

The Minster 1600 relay team of Francis, Lillian Hirschfeld, Magoto and Courtney Prenger finished second (4:02.82) and New Bremen’s team of Goettemoeller, Rachel Kremer, Macy Puthoff and Paige Jones took third to advance (4:04.37).

Fort Loramie’s Alyssa Wrasman advanced to state with a third-place finish in the 100 hurdles (15.69) and New Bremen’s Tess Lane was fourth to advance (16.34).

The Fort Loramie 800 meter relay team of Wrasman, Chloe Stang, Erin Chaney and Kennedi Gephart moved on with a third-place finish (1:45.52).

Gephart is headed to state individually in the 400, where she took second (57.84) and in the 200, where she finished third (25.94).

New Bremen’s freshman high jumper Ellie Roetgerman advanced to state with a fourth-place finish (4-10).

Fort Loramie’s boys 3200 relay team of Collin Luthman, Noah Siegel, Jake Rethman and Joe Ballas repeated as regional champions with an 8:13.9 time.

Ballas took second in the 1600 (4:25.92) and second in the 800 (1:56.02) to make it three events in Columbus.

Fort Loramie’s distance prowess showed again when Rethman took third in the 3200 to advance to state (9:47.06).

Fort Loramie’s Jarrett Meyer had another big day and is headed to state in the 110 hurdles with a second-place finish (15.07) in the 300 hurdles, where he took third (39.71) and the long jump, where he finished second after clearing 21 feet, six inches.

Marion Local’s John Tangeman took third in the 400 to punch his ticket for Columbus (50.4).

John Dirksen will advance to Columbus after taking second in the discus (159-7) and third in the shot put  (49-11), while Max Prenger was the lone Minster boy to advance to state after taking third in the discus (143-4). Fort Loramie’s Collin Detrick grabbed the fourth and final qualifying spot in the shot put (48-9.5).

The Flyers’ 1600 relay team of Luke Schwieterman, Austin Kremer, Caleb Bruns and Tangeman took second (3:26.19), behind only the quartet from Fort Recovery.


642 Max Prenger 12                   Discus

Fort Loramie
   400 Joe Ballas 11                    4x800R 1600 800
   435 Collin Detrick 11                Shot Put
   417 Collin Luthman 12                4x800R
   425 Jarrett Meyer 12                 110H 300H Long Jump
   402 Jake Rethman 11                  4x800R 3200
   406 Noah Siegel 12                   4x800R

 Marion Local
   980 Caleb Bruns 12                   4x400R
   989 John Dirksen 12                  Discus, Shot Put
   969 Austin Kremer 11                 4x400R
   976 Luke Schwieterman 11             4x400R
   971 John Tangeman 11                 400 4x400R


   610 Kaitlynn Albers 11               4x800R 1600
   620 Grace Butler 12                  PV
   628 Jessica Falk 11                  4x200R 4x100R
   617 Cassie Francis 12                4x800R 800 4x400R
   609 Lillian Hirschfeld 12            4x200R 4x100R 4x400R
   606 Madeline Magoto 11               4x800R 800 4x400R
   614 Gwen Meiring 10                  3200
   640 Courtney Prenger 11              4x400R
   633 Paige Thobe 12                   4x200R 4x100R LJ
   619 Emma Watcke 10                   4x800R 1600 3200
   634 Ivy Wolf  9                      4x200R 4x100R

Fort Loramie
   402 Danielle Berning 10              4x800R 4x400R
   407 Erin Chaney 11                   4x200R
   426 Danielle Eilerman  9             4x800R
   401 Kennedi Gephart 10               4x200R 400 200 4x400R
   404 Corynn Heitkamp  9               4x800R 4x400R
   427 Paige Rethman 10                 4x800R
   405 Chloe Stang 11                   4x200R 4x400R
   424 Alyssa Wrasman 10                100H 4x200R

New Bremen
   106 Julia Goettemoeller 12           300H 4x400R
   110 Paige Jones 12                   4x400R
   107 Rachel Kremer 11                 4x400R
   113 Celeste Kuck 12                  PV
   109 Tess Lane  9                     100H
   108 Macy Puthoff 10                  4x400R LJ
   117 Elli Roetgerman  9               HJ

Marion Local
   912 Aubrey Thobe 11                  LJ